Nifty Little Tip

My kids occupy a lot of my time between nursing sessions and nap times. I don’t care to just lay down and be still so I spend a lot of that time reading on my phone. I look up recipes, read tutorials, catch up on blogs I like and pin a million things I want to do.

A few days ago, while I was trying to figure out how to make groups in my contacts (streamlining a little) I discovered a new field. It’s called ‘Relationship’. Hmm. Curious. With a little poking around, I learned that this was a really cool way to cross reference contacts.

This is your contact.

20120821-093417.jpg

First, hit the ‘Edit’ button in the upper right.

20120821-093502.jpg

Scroll to the bottom and hit the ‘add field’ button.

20120821-093542.jpg

All the way at the bottom is the ‘Related People’ field option.

20120821-094041.jpg

By default it lists mother as the related person.

20120821-094257.jpg

By taping the description, it brings up a list that allows you to choose a different relationship.

20120821-094441.jpg

Next, if you tap the arrow rather than type a name, it’ll bring up your contact list. Select whatever name corresponds to your description.

20120821-095454.jpg

Ta-da!!!

20120821-095600.jpg

Add as many as you like.

20120821-095640.jpg

I see this being useful for the favorites list. Add the main contact and utilize these relationships to slim the favorite list. You could also use it for a business. Use the main number as the main contact and have direct lines for others listed in the relationships. I think I might also add a contact call EMERGENCY CONTACTS. That way, if I am ever injured, my family can easily be reached with a quick look in my phone favorites. I could even add notes in that emergency contact that lists allergies, blood type, medications and existing conditions.

Hmm, going to do that now. I hope you have found this to be as useful as I have.

2 thoughts on “Nifty Little Tip

Leave a Reply

