Peaches!

I’ve never really been a lover of peaches. I didn’t dislike them but they were just a mediocre fruit to me. Well, this 1/4 bushel has changed my opinion. The zesty BBQ sauce is FANTASTIC and the butter is so versatile.

This what I ended up with for the batch of butter. The original recipe can be found here. Just in the last 3 days it’s been used in oatmeal, a peanut butter sandwich, on toast and over vanilla ice cream with walnuts. This has definitely made the ‘Make Again’ list! I should mention that when I made it, I followed a woman’s blog who followed this recipe. She didn’t mention that the crock pot lid should be cracked during the simmering so my butter never got very thick. It thickened but I would say it means more to a syrup consistency than a jam. Live and learn. That’s why I’m linking to the original source. I still like how I can use it but I might try it thicker next time. I also omitted the spices for a more versatile butter. Next time I’ll probably split the batch during the processing and spice half of it.

The BBQ is out of this world!!! I followed the recipe to the letter and it has a heat that chases down each bite. While I love it and have used it a couple of times already (burgers and fries) it’s not for the faint of heart. If heat isn’t your thing, don’t add the red pepper flakes. If you only like things kinda hot, use only 1 teaspoon. You can find the recipe here. I should also mention that I did this in the crock pot
even though it called for stove-top simmering. It turned out just fine. I started on low for a couple of hours, then I blended it with my immersion blender and kicked it to high for 4 hours. The consistency is perfect.

I still have a dozen peaches left that I will probably can in slices. I’ll process those when I start on the 4 pounds of blueberries I picked yesterday. Oh happy day!

3 thoughts on “Peaches!

Leave a Reply

