Full Kitchen and Full Bellies

I’m going to preface this post with a huge request. Please overlook the quality of the images being posted!!! I figured better to blog with crumby iPhone images than to not blog at all. MmmK. Thank you very much.

The other day I noticed that my little lady was running low on mamas home made baby food. I roasted a bunch of veggies to restock the freezer. That looked like this.

20120812-110054.jpg

Those carrots and beets are from my garden and were lovingly pull by the hands of a very strong 2&1/2 year old! AKA big brother!

The sweet potato, beets and carrots ended up looking like this once all was said and done.

20120812-110459.jpg

The potatoes on the other hand found their way into a gnocchi recipe.

20120812-113344.jpg

This is what a batch looks like. It ended up being dinner last night with my moms red sauce and meatballs. It was a perfect combo of her good and my gnocchi and fresh mozzarella. Yum! It was enough to feed 4 adults and a bottomless pit of a toddler.

20120812-113704.jpg

I also doubled the batch and froze the other half with a good dusting of flour in single layers. Ready to pull and boil for a meal another day. No defrosting required.

I should also mention that my gnocchi looks like this because I don’t have a gnocchi board. Rather than fiddling with fork tines or pastry blenders to give ridges, I just used my floured fingers to make dimples. Works just fine.

Link to a recipe coming soon.

2 thoughts on “Full Kitchen and Full Bellies

Leave a Reply

