Smash Cake!

As most of my followers probably already know, I am the mother of 2 amazing children.  My bias shows through in most of my remarks about them and this post will be no different.

My oldest just had a birthday.  He’s a whopping 2 years old now!  I knew these years were going to fly by but the speed in which these years morph past us was never quite explained thoroughly.  It’s a good thing I’m a photo junkie at heart because the pictures are some of the only things I have to look back on to remind me of all the fun, quirky phases he went through.

When Kingston had his first birthday, I really really tried to have a smash session.  I was crazy for thinking that he would dive right in.  He hated anything messy, gooey or ‘on’ him.  Yeah, I was just a bit more than delusional thinking that a smash session would be perfect.  The year that has passed has definitely brought him beyond the mess hating phase.  This kid can get dirty with the best of them.  He relishes in dirt!  You’d think that I would have the perfect opportunity for a smash session this year.  Hmmm….not so much.  He did manage to dip a finger in but would not grab a handful.  We gave him a fork and he gladly took a few bites of the first cake he had ever tasted.  He even got a little icing on his toes without any upset.  Unfortunately, the session didn’t last long because this kid doesn’t like sweets.  Yeah, I said it.  He doesn’t like sugar!  Pat on the back for mom.  Palm to forehead for the photographer that thought this would be a fantastic idea!  Anyhoo, here are a few shots of the most handsome boy I know.

2 thoughts on “Smash Cake!

Leave a Reply

